ILL SIG Committee – What it’s like to be a member

 apple-desk-designer-display-medium

Internet access, speakers/headphones, and a little bit of your time. That is all that it takes to be a part of the ILL SIG committee. (Although a microphone would also be super useful!) As we all might know, Interlibrary Loan provides for an endless need to learn from each other. This is what ILL SIG would like to accomplish, which we couldn’t do without the support of our committee– people from all over the region.

I work in the ILL Department at the University of Missouri – Kansas City. I joined SIG several months ago, because it was an opportunity for me to talk with other ILL people that I “work” with on an almost daily basis. I would feel very isolated at times because I worked from my computer all day, not really connecting with my peers. In actuality, I was working with these people, because they were on the other side of the requests I process. What a great connection SIG has made for me!

Since the beginning of the year, we focused most of our meeting time on the unConference, which was so very exciting. People from all over the region came to my university to discuss interlibrary loan topics with each other. Having never planned a conference before, I was amazed at how much I and my colleagues on the committee accomplished. Now with such a great turnout, I’m curious to see what’s next for us…. Workshops? Webinars? New members? Whatever it is, I look forward to being a part of what we will accomplish in the next year.

– Gabrielle Tuttle, University of Missouri Kansas City

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments? Suggestions?

